Sweet Potato Spiced Pancakes

IMG_6707Sweet potatoes can truly do no wrong. Dress ’em up sweet, savory, or spicy. Bake ’em, mash ’em, stick ’em in a stew. Alright, I think you get it. They’re one of my favorite carbs for pre or post-workout foods and these pancakes kept me fueled and ready for a very long deadlift session.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup ground oat flour (make your own in a food processor or I recommend Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (or Penzey’s Pie spice for an extra punch of spice)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup sweet potato puree*
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup almond or flax milk, unsweetened

*make your own sweet potato purée by slicing sweet potatoes length-wise, spray with coconut oil, give ’em a few pokes with a fork and roast for 40 minutes at 400 deg F on a baking sheet; scoop out innards and purée in a food processor until smooth (1 large potato = ~1 cup purée)

Directions:

  1. Make oat flour if not using pre-made flour. I made blended my oat flour with the flax seeds in my food processor to thoroughly mix them. Mix dry ingredients through cinnamon together. Set aside. Whisk wet ingredients together.
  2. Slowly add to dry ingredients until well combined. Make sure there are no lumps in the mix! Because I made my own oat flour, my mix was a little chunky so I let the mix rest to let the oats absorb the wet ingredients for about 5 minutes.
  3. Preheat a skillet or griddle to medium high heat and spray with coconut oil cooking spray. Use 1/4 cup to scoop mix onto pan or griddle. Cook 2-4 minutes per side (will be slightly browned on each side).
  4. Serve with syrup, fruit, sausage, or enjoy as is!

Yields 10-12 pancakes.

Recipe adapted from Fit Foodie Finds.

IMG_6709

Leave a comment