Greek Yogurt Fruit Tart

IMG_6664I like to think of myself as an efficient person. I work in a laboratory and we’re essentially a STAT lab for our clinic, so if we can turn around results in as few steps as possible as fast as we can, all the better for our patients. I try to apply the “as few steps as possible” concept to my daily life, and since my daily life involves a lot of food, recipes with minimal ingredients and minimal steps are my bread and butter. The faster you put it together, the faster you can eat it… am I right?

I made this tart for Easter brunch with my family and it took less than 15 minutes to whip up. BONUS: It’s only four ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 15 pitted medjool dates, soaked in warm water for 10 minutes*
  • 1 1/2 cups raw unsalted cashews**
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • assorted fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, oh my!)

*can also sub in 1 1/2 cups raisins or cranberries instead of dates

**can also use walnuts for an extra punch of omega-3s – a softer nut is best when making the crust so that the oils from the nut easily release and mix with the dates

Directions:

  1. Spray the bottom of a 9-inch tart pan with cooking spray or line with parchment paper to prevent the crust from sticking. Use parchment paper if you don’t like the taste of cooking spray. Set aside. (The crust can be made up to 2 days in advance – cover tightly and store in refrigerator).
  2. Make sure the dates are soft before draining. Drain the dates, chop each in half, and add to a food processor.
  3. Add the cashews and pulse the nuts and dates together until a thick “dough” has formed. It will won’t be completely smooth; it will be slightly grainy and moist from the oil in the nuts. Add a pinch of salt if you want it to be salty-sweet. Press into the tart pan evenly.
  4. Spread yogurt on top of crust. Top with fresh sliced fruit in whatever pattern you desire.
  5. Enjoy!***

***I placed my tart in the freezer for about an hour to firm up the yogurt so that it would be easier to slice and serve

Yields 8 servings. 

Leave a comment